Home » Uncategorized » I’m bustin’ out of here!

I’m bustin’ out of here!

Well yesterday went really well – and that’s with so sarcasm or anything, it really was a good day. I rocked my first therapy session, much to my great surprise. I remember some of those exercises being next to impossible last time, and I pretty much sailed though them this time. I don’t know what the difference is, but I’ll take it. My good friend Sara is my coach again, and she was pretty floored at the difference too. And that’s just fun. Then for my second therapy session, I went in with a walker and came out with crutches, AND they took me to do stairs. So I finished the day so far ahead that I awoke this morning to find they’d changed my orders to discharge today instead of tomorrow. Can I get a “Yesssss!!!!” I mean, not that I don’t totally love being awakened every hour and a half all night long, but it will indeed be lovely to be home. Lots of tricks to do for people before that can happen though, so it’ll be a busy day. Gotta learn how to get in and out of a car, refine my stair technique, get some lab results and finish my antibiotic IV, but I believe I’m on my way.

Our friends David and Elena visited last evening, and then Rich and the kids hung out and had dinner in the room with me while we watched Modern Family reruns. Tessa held my hand and showed me funny videos on her phone, while Rich had fun adding fictitious doctors’ names to my care board. Just a nice, relaxing evening together – a marked difference from the previous night when I could only sit there with my eyes closed and a barf bucket at the ready. I think it was a relief for the kids to see me doing so much better last night. Tessa had to get up early this morning for a dance competition, so she and Rich left before Riley. My sweet boy sat with me till I was ready to go to sleep, then helped set my room up for the night, laid my clothes out for today and tucked me in before leaving – kind of a strange role reversal, but one I found rather touching.

So I’m doing really well. Thanks for all the prayers and healing thoughts and messages. I feel like I say that a lot, but I appreciate them more than I can express. They really are helping me get better, I know it. And the meals have started coming, much to my family’s delight. We really do have an incredible village rallying around us once again, and I am all kinds of grateful.

Well, I’ve got a lot of going home work to do, so I’d better get at it. Off to PT!

6 thoughts on “I’m bustin’ out of here!

  1. Woo hoo!!! Go girl! Riley’s care of you brought me to tears. How sweet. Sending many prayers your way for a quick recovery. ~Christine

    Like

  2. So happy to hear from you and that you are now home. Think of you often as I visit a friend from church that had her knee replaced. Needlesstosay, at our age she didn’t come home so soon and is taking a lot longer recovery but she is serious about it and doing well. You are just awesome and are always in our thoughts and prayers. Love you. A, Joyce

    Like

Leave a comment